An Emmy Awards statuette in Los Angeles, California, on September 16, 2021
Emmy statuette | Valerie Macon/AFP via Getty Images

The Emmy Awards are presented annually to recognize excellence in the TV industry and emerging media. Three sister organizations administer the awards: the Television Academy, the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, and the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. Several Emmy events happen throughout the year, including Daytime, Primetime, Sports, News & Documentary, Technology & Engineering, and College TV.

Winners receive a golden Emmy statuette — a winged woman holding an atom. TV engineer Louis McManus designed the trophy, modeled after his wife. The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences selected his design in 1948 after reviewing and rejecting 47 other submissions.

The Emmy Awards are one of the four major entertainment honors in the United States. The others are the Academy Awards, Grammys, and Tonys. People who have won all four are called “EGOTs,” an acronym representing each award. As of 2021, 16 actors, composers, directors, and producers have reached EGOT status.

Visit the Emmy Awards website.

Read more about the Emmy Awards, including winners, nominees, and memorable moments:

Read About: Academy Awards
Read About: Grammy Awards